top of page
Search

MEET @CAREEXPCONF TEAM MEMBER ROSIE CANNING!



Hello! My name is Rosie Canning @Rosie_Canning. I was born in the fiction section of a Muswell Hill Library and spent the first 16 years of my life in the care system in North London. I am a campaigner for care leavers and helped set up the Every Child Leaving Care Matters campaign. I’m also the co-coordinator for the Your Life Your Story event that happens as part of #CareExperienceWeek.


As Creative Director of Greenacre Writers I run writing groups, workshops and festivals. I’m doing a PhD in Creative Writing at the University of Southampton. The focus of my research is the representations of care experience in fiction. The creative piece will explore my own experiences of leaving care as well as considering the positive aspect that reading fiction has had on my life. I’m very excited to be involved in co-organising the art exhibition for the Care Experienced Conference - the first of its kind. I believe in the healing power of art in all its forms to be a transformational tool that can help those with trauma-based lives.


Meet other members of the team: https://www.careexperiencedconference.com/conference

36 views
bottom of page